Name The University of Queensland
Type of University Public
Founded 10 December 1909 (Signing of the University Act)

16 April 1910 (Gazettal of the first Senate, and officially celebrated foundation date)

14 March 1911 (Commencement of classes)
Motto Scientia ac Labore, Latin for 'by means of knowledge and hard work'
Emblem/Coat of Arms UQ Coat of Arms

(Cross Patee azure surmounted by an open book proper)

See a history of the UQ Coat of Arms (PDF, 284.3 KB).
Postal address The University of Queensland, Queensland 4072, Australia
Telephone +61 7 3365 1111 (main switch)
Main campuses St Lucia, Gatton, Herston
Sites and centres UQ's diverse facilities off-campus include the Pharmacy Australia Centre of Excellence (PACE) and Translational Research Institute, marine research stations at Heron and Stradbroke Islands, mineral research centre, seismograph station, veterinary and agricultural science teaching and research centres at Gatton, UQ Business School Brisbane City, social science research at Long Pocket, and teaching hospitals, health centres and other medical research facilities.
Total students 55,305 (2019)
International students 20,213 from 142 countries
Top three international source countries China
Undergraduate students 35,051
Postgraduate students 19,939
Top three programs by enrolment Doctor of Philosophy, Bachelor of Arts, Bachelor of Engineering (Honours)
Graduate job rate 72.8% (average full-time rate for domestic Bachelor degree); national average (excluding UQ) 72.6%
Cultural Several museums and collections, including the UQ Art Museum in the James and Mary Emelia Mayne Centre at St Lucia, the Marks-Hirschfeld Museum of Medical History at UQ Herston, and the Past Students Association Museum at the Gatton campus
Clubs and societies More than 220 clubs and societies
Residential colleges 11 — catering for Australian and international students
Graduates More than 280,000 (total since 1911)
Chancellor Mr Peter N Varghese AO
Vice-Chancellor and President Professor Deborah Terry AO
Governance 22-member Senate comprising three official members, eight members appointed by the Governor-In-Council, eight members elected by staff, students and graduates of the University, and three additional members appointed by Senate


7,208 (full-time equivalent)

2.17 million book titles (electronic and print)

158,000 journals (electronic and print)

An institutional repository, UQ eSpace, housing more than 363,000 items authored or co-authored by UQ-affiliated researchers

Extensive cultural and historical collections

Computers 100,000+ including supercomputers
Space and Buildings UQ has space details recorded at 26 sites with 562 buildings (owned by UQ) covering 747,523 m2 (gross floor area) and holding 411 general teaching rooms and 1893 laboratories
Land 1463 hectares
Total revenue (2019) $2.19 billion
Total research (HERDC) income (2019) $452.5 million

* This page was last updated in September 2020; monetary amounts are in Australian dollars.

Please visit the Key statistics page for more detailed statistics about The University of Queensland.